What is the PTE General?

The Pearson Test of English General (PTE General) is designed to reward positive achievement in English language learning.

The PTE General consists of two parts: a written paper and a spoken test. The written paper tests listening, reading comprehension and writing skills and is marked by external examiners in the UK. The spoken test is assessed by trained local examiners and is sent to the UK for moderation.


The PTE General is included in the list of requirements of the Supreme Council for Personnel Selection (ASEP). Levels 4 and 5 are recognized for admission to universities in the UK and by many multinationals. Check the Recognition section on the Pearson website for details about recognition abroad.

What does the PTE General aim to achieve?

The PTE General is designed to evaluate and reward the positive and progressive learning of the English language. The test is designed to encourage students and provide schools, parents and teachers with comments about their performance. All candidates are also provided with comments about their performance.

How much study is needed for each level?

It is true that students progress at different rates but in general the transition from level 2 to 3 requires one year of teaching for many of our candidates. Level 4 usually represents 18 additional months of study after level 3, as well as the transition from level 4 to 5.

Each level of the PTE General is an ongoing interactive and comprehensive structure of knowledge and not an isolated category unrelated to the preceding level of learning. Therefore, as the candidates reach each new level of the PTE General, it is obvious that they have become familiar and can successfully complete the communication exercises, the language skills, the content and the structure of the language as required by the level preceding the current one.

For which ages is the PTE General designed?

The PTE General is suitable for candidates of all ages, provided that the preparation has exceeded the necessary topics and themes included in each level.

What teaching materials should be used for the preparation of candidates?

The types of exercises that candidates must complete in the exams are similar to those included in most modern conversation books. Moreover, the topics found in most books are similar.

When can the PTE General candidates take the test?

The PTE General tests are administered every May and December and usually take place on Saturdays.

Where can the PTE General candidates take the test?

The PTE General tests are conducted in exam centres found in most Greek prefectures, in cooperation with London Exams Hellas, the PLA exclusive representative in the country, and PALSO, the exclusive test giver.

Pass Mark

From the exam period of May 2014 we have fixed grade boundaries:

PTE General Level 2, Level 3, Level 4

·  Pass: 50 or above

·  Merit: between 60 and 69

·  Distinction: 70 or above

PTE General Level 5

·  Pass: 60 or above

·  Merit: between 70 and 79

·  Distinction: 80 or above


What is the mark assigned for each level?

The exam mark for each level is Distinction, Merit or Pass.